Geotechnical Engineering 101 and more…

Building firm foundations

Introduction

Posted by Kshitija Nadgouda on March 21, 2006

I was introduced to blogging by my husband – who not just encouraged me to start blogging, but almost nagged me into doing it. So here I am, trying my hand at it. From what he tells me, it seems addictive – lets see if I get hooked on to it! Check out his blog at Abhijit Nadgouda @ iface.

My interest in Geotechnical Engineering was kindled by our professor in Engineering College (Sardar Patel College of Engineering), Dr. S. Y. Mhaiskar. From Soil Mechanics to Machine Foundations, he made everything easy to understand but challenging at the same time.

So what in the world is Geotechnical Engineering you ask? Geotechnical Engineering is the study of soil in relation to the structures built on it. The structure could be as small as a pedestal or as large as a high rise. The behaviour of the soil resting under any structure will vary based on several factors such as type of soil, presence of ground water, type and size of the proposed structure, etc. The prediction of this sub-surface behaviour, the actions and remedial measures designed to mould it as per our requirements, constitutes a part of Geotechnical Engineering.

Technorati tags:

2 Responses to “Introduction”

  1. Good luck with blogging… I was actually searching for blogs about construction and I found your one.

  2. kompresory said

    super article

Leave a Reply

 
